Apple announces iPod Hi-Fi boombox

Comments

• Reply 61 of 184
    jeffdmjeffdm Posts: 12,951member
    Quote:

Originally posted by melgross

His reply is one I agree with.

"Good engineering costs no more than bad engineering."

I doubt that. Bad engineering can cost more than good engineering. Good engineering can cost more than bad engineering.
  • Reply 62 of 184
    mr. hmr. h Posts: 4,870member
    Quote:

Originally posted by JeffDM

I doubt that. Bad engineering can cost more than good engineering. Good engineering can cost more than bad engineering.

I second that.

I like to think that I am a good engineer.

I can design a Power Amp for about £20, and another that costs £400 (parts costs). Most people wouldn't be able to hear the difference between them, but the £400 one would have significantly higher/better measurable performance.
  • Reply 63 of 184
    macgregormacgregor Posts: 1,434member
    Quote:

Originally posted by JeffDM

Yeah, just ask the citizens of New Orleans.
  • Reply 64 of 184
    I posted this on the TS discussion and I think it applies here as well:

I'd like to respectfully bring a different perspective to the iPod Hi-Fi discussion. As a teenager living in the "iPod generation", I think I'm kinda in the target market on this thing. I agree, most adults will opt for a higher quality home system. And honestly speaking, I think it's largely because you're not adverse to sitting on the couch without many other people around to listen to your music.

For my generation music is a social experience. We want to share our music. We want to take our music with us. We have different needs.