Faithful Win user seriously looking to switch..need advice

Posted:
in Current Mac Hardware edited January 2014
I haven't been a truly faithful win fanboy. I bought a powerbook and kept it about three weeks before selling it to a friend. To be honest I just didn't need a laptop. I am not gone enough to justify having a laptop. I am a student and I talked myself into needing a laptop for school. I have since purchased a Sony Vaio notebook that I have let me mom have. It took me two times to realize that I don't need anything besides a pc.

I built my computer almost four years ago, and it still runs good to be four years old. I can tell that the time to upgrade is very close. I don't play pc games at all anymore. I doubt I will ever play pc games again. So, I am not looking for a graphics powerhouse, that was all I cared about four years ago.

I have been looking at the imac. I think that it has everything I need. I would upgrade to 1 gig ram and maybe upgrade to the 256 graphics card. I think that machine would take care of all my needs. All I really do is surf the net and buy/download music, make cds and do some work for school. I am also tired of all the space this current machine takes up. I want more desk space to do homework on.

I don't know really what I am looking for. Words of encouragement maybe, helping me decide between g5 and intel, general help with macs. I am scared about learning a new OS. When I had my powerbook I did love the machine. It looked great and performed ok. Wasn't that great at playing games.

Would a Intel Imac last me four years?

Everyone I know that is interested in computers is a windows fanboy. I mentioned that I am looking at a mac and all I get is "why" followed by a very weird and confused look on their face.

Please help a mac newb.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 42