Should i get one?

Posted:
in General Discussion edited January 2014
Im looking to get a laptop that will last me through univerity and hopefully a few years after and im thinking about getting a mac. I've never used a mac before but i've simply had it with pcs and there constant crashing and viruses. The thing is i've read a few things about mac and some people say they are more professional machines wheras others say they are achines anyone could use. All i really want is something that will run reasonably fast, hold my work and surf the internet. Im not too fussed about playing computer games on it (more of a console gamer really) and the only game i'd see myself buying is wow which i know runs on macs. Is a mac the laptop for me or should i just get a budget pc laptop? If mac is the way to go then which one do people recomend? Is it worth me forking out for a macbook pro or should i just stick with a powerbook?

Advice would be greatly appreciated.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 13
    Apple may soon release a lower-priced notebook, so you may want to wait and check it out.

The Mac will come with everything you need except a word-processor. Pick up Apple's iWork which includes Pages (a wordprocessor) and Keynote (presentation software); it's just 55 pounds.

You won't need to shop around, it all works fine, and all thhe apps are made by the same company so they are easy to jump between.

Depending on your notetaking needs, you may want to try ConceptDraw MindMap. It is a little expensive, but mindmapping is a great way to create notes that are very effective for review, which in my book (as a teacher) is priceless.

http://www.conceptdraw.com/en/products/mindmap/main.php

Another program would be Notetaker.

http://www.aquaminds.com/product.jsp
  • Reply 2 of 13