Just installed second hard drive (G5tower). Can I FileVault it?

Posted:
in General Discussion edited January 2014
I am new to having a second hard drive. I have a 2.7 G5 Tower with its stock 250GB drive and I just installed a 500GB harddrive in the B drive slot. I have filevault running on the main drive, but how do I get it going on the second one? Filevault is supposed to protect everything in your home folder, right? So if the second drive is not in or apart of the Home folder, how do I filevault the 500GB drive?

GENERAL FILEVAULT QUESTION: When you turn on filevault, does it cut your hard drive space in half? You know, in order to keep an extra scrambled version of your data or something like that? It just feels like I used up the space on my original drive really quickly.

I use some pretty heavy audio/video applications. Anyone have any advice about what stuff I should put on/run from the second hard drive? Performance of big time apps might be better if ran from the primary drive, right? If so, does that mean I should just put my sensitive work (files) on my unproteced (un-filevaulted) drive? <--- that is, if Filevault will not apply to a secondary drive.

Thanks!! Any suggestive advice would also be very much appreciated! =)

Comments

• Reply 1 of 4
    chuckerchucker Posts: 5,089member
    Quote:

Originally posted by AppleComputer

I am new to having a second hard drive. I have a 2.7 G5 Tower with its stock 250GB drive and I just installed a 500GB harddrive in the B drive slot. I have filevault running on the main drive, but how do I get it going on the second one? Filevault is supposed to protect everything in your home folder, right?

Yeah, File Vault is limited to your home folder. You could move your home folder to the second drive, but you can't make it span over both.

Quote:

So if the second drive is not in or apart of the Home folder, how do I filevault the 500GB drive?