Noise from MBP

Posted:
in Current Mac Hardware edited January 2014
So i guess I wasn't that lucky unless i am just freaking out.

There is noise coming from pb like a very very quiet dot matrix printer from around F4-F9 key area. I heard there were fixes for this. Anyone?

Comments

• Reply 1 of 9
    google this: macbook noise

Lot's of people are complaining but I don't know how terrible it is.

My macbook is coming next tuesday so I'll have my ear next to it to test it out.

I think u can eleminate the noise by keeping the processors busy, which is lame.

Also shutting down one core or switching on the isight could eleminate the noise.

I guess it's normal for a machine to produce noises, it all depends how loud the noise is.

If it's too loud it's going back to apple since I'm a audio professional.

Anyway, if it's very very quiet, what's the problem?

Hope this helps...
  • Reply 2 of 9
    toweltowel Posts: 1,479member
    My MBP, just arrived, has the noise. It's annoying, but easy to get rid of. It's apparently caused by a voltage change as the second processor goes into deep sleep. So if you use just enough CPU to keep it out of sleep, no noise. Red Sweater wrote a little program that uses the minimum necceasry CPU, about 8% (out of 200%), and does it at the lowest possible priority, so that it never gets in the way of your other programs. You can drop the program into your startup items. Works like a charm. It will affect your battery life slightly, but if battery life is critical, you can always turn off the second processor. That will both save battery and kill the noise. You need to install Apple's "CHUD Tools" from the OS X install disks, but then you can have a processor-toggle menu on the menu bar to easily turn the second processor on and off.