Firefox Universal Binary

Posted:
in Mac Software edited January 2014
Any one have an idea of when we might see a final version of the Firefox 1.5 universal binary? I thought it was supposed to be ready in March?

Comments

• Reply 1 of 8
    sandausandau Posts: 1,230member
    I thought it was April.... but no word. I've been using this universal binary version for a couple of months, zero problems, works with most extensions. http://wiki.mozilla.org/Mac:Intel

I hope its soon, I'd like to see this thing completed too!
  • Reply 2 of 8
    lgnomelgnome Posts: 81member
    Quote:

Originally posted by sandau

I thought it was April.... but no word. I've been using this universal binary version for a couple of months, zero problems, works with most extensions. http://wiki.mozilla.org/Mac:Intel

I hope its soon, I'd like to see this thing completed too!

Yes, try this build. I have a 2 GHZ MacBook Pro with a 7200 RPM drive and this is the fastest web browsing I have ever done on a Mac...

Even more incredible, its as fast or faster than any browsing I have done on a Windows machine... And for the multi-platform experienced here, this is huge---almost unbelievable!

As well, Adblock, Greasemonkey, and Web Developer plugs all work.

Major kudos to all that have made this happen. All we need now is parity with browser based media playback.
  • Reply 3 of 8
    irelandireland Posts: 17,798member
    It seemed fast to me unitl I went to visit digg and it took about 2 minutes before it loaded! I went back and tried safari, it was better. So I tried the fox again, same problem! Most other sites were quick, but when I started encountering this problem last time I just got fed up and trashed the fox, I might do the same again. I'll give it some time and do a few more tests first!
  • Reply 4 of 8
    Quote:

Originally posted by Ireland