LCD iMac 133mhz bus.

Posted:
in Current Mac Hardware edited January 2014
Most PC motherboards have a jumper so switch bus speeds. So it got me thinking as to why Apple specifies PC133 ram for the LCD iMac. Is it possible that Apple could post a firmware upgrade and change our iMacs from 100 to 133 bus speeds? If this is the case is would prove that Apple is sandbagging the G4 iMacs untl new PowerMacs arrive.

I am not that technical I this sounds stupid please don't flame me.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 7
    icarusicarus Posts: 31member
    Usually there is some sodering going on with these sort of things although Apple is in a real fix with their current hardware all smooshing together. I think that the main problem may just be customers with wishful thinking though
  • Reply 2 of 7
    addisonaddison Posts: 1,185member
    [quote]Originally posted by icarus:

<strong>Usually there is some sodering going on with these sort of things although Apple is in a real fix with their current hardware all smooshing together. I think that the main problem may just be customers with wishful thinking though </strong><hr></blockquote>

Why do we need PC133 memory in a machine with a 100mhz bus. That's what I can't quite get to grips with.

I take you point about wishful thinking, but I do find it hard to believe that Apple is going to be stuck in this rut as regard to processor performance for much longer. They must be acutly aware of the marketing problems and perception.

I don't think we will ever see another bake off, even if we ever get a machine that is twice as fast as a PC.
  • Reply 3 of 7
    icarusicarus Posts: 31member
    I think that the 133 memory on the 100 board is just apples way of adhearing to standards and yada yada yada...its probably just less expensive to do it that way or perhaps the engineers are lazy and thought were waiting for a solution to the bus speed from Moto so they just went along without it.