Tablet only Macbook strategy

Posted:
in Future Apple Hardware edited January 2014
Here's why...

1. An 8.5*11 inch peice of paper has a diagnol of 13.9 inches. With whitespace margins excluded, the typical document would easily fit on a 13.3 inch screen if turned to portrait.

2. A big growth market for the macbook is in education. Where a tablet interface is still greatly desired. (I'm a teacher, trust me)

3. A non-convertible (no keyboard), slimmed down (no optical disc) tablet could be cheaper and slimmer than a regular notebook.

4. Sell more macs - The easiest way to sell more macs is to make existing mac owners want to buy another one. If the tablet is under =$1K a lot of mac users would buy one in addion to their workhorse mac. Especially if it synced well and could function as a second monitor or waccom type tablet.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 92
    andersanders Posts: 6,523member
    Lets test the idea.
  • Reply 2 of 92
    andersanders Posts: 6,523member
    bala
  • Reply 3 of 92
    noah93noah93 Posts: 168member
    I'd definitely go with that! It would be perfect for taking notes during classes, and it could be completely stripped down to just a word processor and a browser, so it does not need a fast and/or expensive processor, could be ultra-lightweight, and for a price of $6/700 CAD, I'd buy that, and get a desktop to replace my PB. I think it is a great idea, hopefully Apple will create that!

-- Noah
  • Reply 4 of 92
    I'd seriously buy a tablet, or a thin MacBook that became one.
  • Reply 5 of 92
    g_warreng_warren Posts: 713member
    I'm not in the 'marked' for a MacBook, but I will be in the market for a MacBook, MacBook Pro, updated Mac Mini or 'Mac Cube' in 6 months time, depending on how the product lines are looking.

So arguably, yes I am in the market, but not the marked. I'm definitely not fussed for a tablet though.
  • Reply 6 of 92
    gargar Posts: 1,201member
    nope... option B.
  • Reply 7 of 92