Pen Advice, Please

Posted:
in AppleOutsider edited January 2014
I'm in the market for a decent rollerball pen that will take gel ink refills. I've got a Parker Sonnet that I love to death...but I can't find gel refills for it.

Any advice? I'm thinking anywhere in the $35-$100 range.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 15
    chuckerchucker Posts: 5,089member
    I'm no expert on this and don't know if they sell in the US (assuming that's where you reside), but give the Stabilo "'s move" ("smooth") a try.
  • Reply 2 of 15
    midwintermidwinter Posts: 10,060member
    Quote:

Originally posted by Chucker

I'm no expert on this and don't know if they sell in the US (assuming that's where you reside), but give the Stabilo "'s move" ("smooth") a try.

Is that a German pen? One of my oldest friends lives in Wuppertal, so I may see if he can nab me one.
  • Reply 3 of 15
    chuckerchucker Posts: 5,089member
    Yes, Stabilo is mostly a German brand. Apparently popular in the UK too.
  • Reply 4 of 15
    splinemodelsplinemodel Posts: 7,311member
    I recently was given a pen by a company I bought some parts from. It's a custom pen, but the cartridge inside is a "Schneider Topball 850," size is 05, and it is also from the fatherland. All I had to do to get it was design and order a bunch of screen-printed, plexiglass bezels.

It writes very nicely, and has the added bonus that it doesn't dry out. It writes better than the Mont Blanc I have.
  • Reply 5 of 15
    playmakerplaymaker Posts: 511member
    well if the budget was slightly higher I'd recomend this http://www.thespacereview.com/article/613/1
  • Reply 6 of 15
    I just read that a couple of days ago! I was stunned that the story was as fascinating as it was.
  • Reply 7 of 15
    ichiban_jayichiban_jay Posts: 660member
    my fisher space pen leaks globs of ink if I don't use it for a week.

I love my Sensa Meridian, I believe it comes in a rollerball model as well, but I love fountain pens...
  • Reply 8 of 15