Apple unveils Intel-based MacBook notebooks

Comments

• Reply 21 of 440
    i just sold my G3 "Lombard" powerbook on ebay. I have to say that i still believe the black powerbook g3 is one of the most beautiful computers Apple ever sold, even after 7 years since its release. I was never too happy with the aluminium look of the more recent powerbooks and was a bit disappointed when the macbooks pro were released, only to find out that they were essentially the same design - i know it's thinner and completely re-rengineered and all, but hey, it looks the same! in the 90's, most consumer products were black (tv's, walkmans, phones, home stereos, etc.) and then after 2000, silver took over. Silver makes everything look cheaper, black makes everything look classy, especially on plastic, in my humble opinion anyway. Of course you can argue about taste, but as a graphic designer i ponder about these things a lot =)

So it is with grea delight that i see Apple bringing out a sexy black machine and i can go from one black apple notebook to another. So when they put a merom processor into a black macbook, add a decent graphics card and load Leopard onto it, then i will be one of the first ones in line to get one. Maybe another 6 months? The wait is almost over

Nice one, Apple!!!
  • Reply 22 of 440
    splinemodelsplinemodel Posts: 7,311member
    Quote:

Originally posted by scavanger

I'm glad to see they gimped the graphics card on the high end, so unless you want a 15 inch which I don't there is no way to get non intergrated graphics. Thanks Apple you've wasted my time.

It's $1099.

Let me repeat that: it's $1099.

Yeah, it has its let downs, and I'm not sure why anyone would buy anything but the 1099 model, but for $300 more than a Mac Mini you get more CPU, a screen, a keyboard, and a battery. And it's not much bigger. It's yet another trojan horse, especially for people who might spend $400 on an iPod. I expect it to sell fantastically well.
  • Reply 23 of 440