Final Cut Studio... MB, or MBP?

Posted:
in Current Mac Hardware edited January 2014
I am planning on buy a MB or a MBP and getting Final Cut Studio from an educational accomodation but im not sure which i should get, keep in mind that im a student on a budget but i was thinking a MBP with the following...

-1.8 Ghz Proccessor

-15" Screen (glossy or not?)

-80 GB HD

-2 Gigs Ram (Ill add it myself)

But that would run me basically 2k.

or MB

-2.0 Ghz

-13.3 Screen

-60 GB HD

-2 Gigs of Ram (ill add it myself)

I really need screen size for video editing and ill get a external drive regardless. So would 1.8 be enough to video edit and also CS3?

Comments

• Reply 1 of 11
    skatmanskatman Posts: 609member
    MacBook will be sufficient.
  • Reply 2 of 11
    hmurchisonhmurchison Posts: 12,425member
    Quote:

Originally posted by skatman

MacBook will be sufficient.

I'm sorry I have to disagree. The Macbook will run FCS but Apple doesn't not support that configuration. You will want to be able to use Motion 2 for many tasks and it simply doesn't run very well at all on integrated graphics. With the MBP you get a dedicated 128MB or 256MB of RAM on discrete graphics. This will help you tremendously on FCS. I expect more GPU functionality coming in the next version of FCS.

You also have the expresscard slots which could be important for adding fast storage or other items. If you can afford it..go MBP is my advice. If money is tight and you just want to run the basics then as Skatman has said the MB will suffice.
  • Reply 3 of 11
    Thanks for the advice, but will a 1.8 Ghz be enough for it? Thats my biggest worry.
  • Reply 4 of 11
    joeyjoey Posts: 236member
    The processor here isn't really an issue... there's a nominal difference between 1.8GHz and 2.0GHz (Ah... 200MHz is a nominal difference... my first computer was 4MHz). The GPU (graphics processor) is by far the major difference.
  • Reply 5 of 11
    Joey is on point.