DVD Backup

Posted:
in Genius Bar edited January 2014
I just had a quick question. I am a music teacher at an elementary school and I show a certain DVD during about 40 classes a year. I have to travel to their different classrooms and the DVD get scratched pretty easily. I was wondering if there was a free utility that would let me back up the disk so I could use the backup disk instead so that way if it gets scratched I can just burn off a new one.

And before I get the flame war going I know it is illegal to burn DVD's I do not own. I own this DVD and need a backup to use in case it gets scratched up.

Thanks,

Macaddict16

Comments

• Reply 1 of 4
    k squaredk squared Posts: 608member
    Check out www.ripdifferent.com

You will need MacTheRipper to extract the Video_TS file and then, if the resulting file is too large to fit on to a single layer DVD, an application to compress the video. Example would include Popcorn or Toast 7.

Kevin.
  • Reply 2 of 4
    macaddict16macaddict16 Posts: 194member
    Anyone use Fast DVD Copy? I know it is $100 but I tried the trial and it seemed pretty good. Anything else out there that is comparable but cheaper?

Macaddict16
  • Reply 3 of 4
    noah93noah93 Posts: 168member
    Quote:

Originally posted by Macaddict16

Anyone use Fast DVD Copy? I know it is $100 but I tried the trial and it seemed pretty good. Anything else out there that is comparable but cheaper?

Macaddict16

Mactheripper does a great job, you can choose whether to extract the whole thing, the main feature, or a certain chapter. You can also disable the annoying "This action is not allowed" that you get from skipping commercials. It will also rip a DVD from any region, to work in yours.

Noah
  • Reply 4 of 4
    k_munick_munic Posts: 357member
    you need two apps:

MacTheRipper to get rid of copy-protection mechanisms..

and a cruncher as DVD2One, which allows to get the content of a 7.7GB double layered DVD onto a standard dvd-r with 4.4GB...