Apple unveils quad-core 64-bit Mac Pro desktops

12357

Comments

  • Reply 81 of 123
    haggarhaggar Posts: 1,568member
    The previous Power Mac G5 came with the Geforce 6600 as the stock card. The new Mac Pro has the Geforce 7300 as the stock card. How does the 7300 compare to the 6600?
  • Reply 82 of 123
    haggarhaggar Posts: 1,568member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by alternativepiano


    If they arlready have the chips, how come they havent gone to core 2 duo yet?



    Woodcrest works in dual chip configurations. Conroe aka Core 2 Duo does not.
  • Reply 83 of 123
    I know little about Core Image. I can't comment on it's performance on a Quadro versus a X1900XT. All I'm saying is that a Quadro is not a huge performance boost over a X1900XT - at least not stat-wise/spec-wise.



    And I don't deny that 7300s kind of smell bad. But Apple's figuring that graphics guys would get the gaming card or pro card anyways. Honestly, I was planning on it, even when I expect a 7600GT.



    I'm not saying I like the 7300, I'm saying don't let it be a deal-breaker. And Core Image Photobooth is real-time on my sister's GMA 950, so I'm sure it'll run fine on either the X1900XT or the Quadro, and probably OK on the 7300 - which is way better than a GMA950
  • Reply 84 of 123
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Haggar


    Woodcrest works in dual chip configurations. Conroe aka Core 2 does not.



    You misunderstand him. He didn't mean why don't all the Mac Pros use Conroe, he meant if Apple wanted a Conroe tower out there, why didn't it release it now.



    I'd say for either of two reasons:



    1) The spotlight's pretty full with Leopard and Mac Pro right now, whereas an xMac has the stage to itself at some other event

    2) Apple wants immediate shipping, and current Conroe levels could make that hard, especially if iMacs are also Conroe.
  • Reply 85 of 123
    haggarhaggar Posts: 1,568member
    Will standard PC graphics cards work in this new Mac?
  • Reply 86 of 123
    solsunsolsun Posts: 763member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by ZachPruckowski


    You misunderstand him. He didn't mean why don't all the Mac Pros use Conroe, he meant if Apple wanted a Conroe tower out there, why didn't it release it now.



    I'd say for either of two reasons:



    1) The spotlight's pretty full with Leopard and Mac Pro right now, whereas an xMac has the stage to itself at some other event

    2) Apple wants immediate shipping, and current Conroe levels could make that hard, especially if iMacs are also Conroe.



    If there is just a "Mac" coming, it makes sense that Apple release it after the "Mac Pro." Releasing two new towers would cannibalize sales of the higher end model.



    Macbook Pro came several months before MacBook.
  • Reply 87 of 123
    erikeneriken Posts: 9member
    I love the new mac Pro, finally a kick ass gaming machine that is a mac!

    I setup a nice configuration at the UK Apple Store and boom £2,229 ( $4,248 )

    and this is too much for poor me. Just to twist the knifethe same configuration

    at the US Apple Store is $3,228.



    So how do I get a green card?



    :0)
  • Reply 88 of 123
    molokomoloko Posts: 21member
    ok, bit of a late post as i was watchin keynote re-runs til L8 yesterday, but before the SLI doubt sets in for good here:



    ? Quad across the line !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    ? 4 HD bays, 2 x optical !!!!!!!

    ? *all one mobo, 1GB RAM standard !!!



    ...from just over $2000 (Quad 2GHz + 160GB HD).... !!!!!!!

    ...2.66GHz Quad @$2500 (down from $3300 for Quad 2.5)... !!!!!

    ...3GHz @ last, & in a Quad ? at $3300 (again, old Quad 2.5 price...) !!!!!!!!!



    ATI Radeon X1900 XT 512MB (2 x dual-link DVI) ? *JUST* Add $350... !!!



    PowerMac just got BUMPED to Pro ? and THIS IS A WORKSTATION, across the board...





    Thankyou, thankyou, thankyou Apple, for LISTENING (at last) !!!!!!!

    Exactly what we want for the Pro environment ? a sweetly priced, strong, well expandable machine ? and plenty BTO!!! 8)



    *not to mention some really sensible production decisions...
  • Reply 89 of 123
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Haggar


    The previous Power Mac G5 came with the Geforce 6600 as the stock card. The new Mac Pro has the Geforce 7300 as the stock card. How does the 7300 compare to the 6600?



    Here's a comparison of the two editions of the 6600 vs. the 7300GT:



    Memory:

    Gf 6600 LE = 128MB GDDR SDRAM

    Gf 6600 = 256MB GDDR SDRAM

    Gf 7300GT = 256MB GDDR2 SDRAM



    Memory bandwidth:

    Gf 6600 LE = 6.4 GBps\t

    Gf 6600 = 8 GBps

    Gf 7300GT = 10.7 GBps



    Vertices per second:

    Gf 6600 LE = 225m

    Gf 6600 = 225m

    Gf 7300GT = 350m



    Fill rate:

    Gf 6600 LE = 1.2 billion

    Gf 6600 = 2.4 billion

    Gf 7300GT = 2.8 billion



    So, as you can see the 7300GT is better than the 6600s, especially the 6600 LE previously found in the "low end" PM G5
  • Reply 90 of 123
    GREAT! About time! I'd buy one TODAY... but (and this is a BIG BUT) what about Adobe Universals? I'm not spending $3g's on a new Mac UNTIL Adobe Universals are available. I think most graphic specialists would agree with me. Why upgrade now when Adobe has yet to do so. There could be significant upgrades to the line between now and then!
  • Reply 91 of 123
    jeffdmjeffdm Posts: 12,951member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by BEatMaKeR


    GREAT! About time! I'd buy one TODAY... but (and this is a BIG BUT) what about Adobe Universals? I'm not spending $3g's on a new Mac UNTIL Adobe Universals are available. I think most graphic specialists would agree with me. Why upgrade now when Adobe has yet to do so. There could be significant upgrades to the line between now and then!



    It might depend on what you currently have and how badly you need an upgrade. When emulated, I would expect that it is better than any G4-based unit and any 1P G5. How well it can exceed a Dual or Quad G5 for the remaining non-Universal app is a valid question. I would expect MacWorld magazine to put up benchmarks on their site in the next few days. If you absolutely need a PPC upgrade, then you'd probably want to consider the Apple Certified Refurbished units, though they haven't dropped the prices on those yet. Apple stores might be clearancing the remaining new stock.
  • Reply 92 of 123
    placeboplacebo Posts: 5,767member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Haggar


    Does Core Image run faster on a high bandwidth and high vertex card, or does it run faster on a high fill rate card? Would Core Image take advantage of multiple GPUs?



    I think it has to do with the one with the best shader support, which is probably going to mean the high fill rate card? Could somebody confirm/disprove this?
  • Reply 93 of 123
    SpamSandwichSpamSandwich Posts: 33,407member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by BEatMaKeR


    GREAT! About time! I'd buy one TODAY... but (and this is a BIG BUT) what about Adobe Universals? I'm not spending $3g's on a new Mac UNTIL Adobe Universals are available. I think most graphic specialists would agree with me. Why upgrade now when Adobe has yet to do so. There could be significant upgrades to the line between now and then!



    As much as I love the new Mac Pros, I'm waiting for Adobe to get it in gear also. Won't buy any new systems for work 'til then. \



    OTOH, I just might spring for the iMac for home-fun stuff.
  • Reply 94 of 123
    icfireballicfireball Posts: 2,594member
    There is one thing about the Mac Pro that I really don't appreciate - No IR remote. HELLO?! Apple is going to ship Front Row with Leopard -- don't you think it would be nice to ship a IR remote and reciever with the PowerMac?



    Airport and Bluetooth could be includded. But then again if I'm going to pay upwards of 2000 dollars for a computer, why not pitch in another $80 for bluetooth and wireless?



    I can understand why no iSight though. Where ya gonna put it?



    Some might say, its a Pro Mac -- for Pro stuff, but why can't you mix business and pleasure. Espessially if you work out of your home.
  • Reply 95 of 123
    jeffdmjeffdm Posts: 12,951member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by icfireball


    There is one thing about the Mac Pro that I really don't appreciate - No IR remote. HELLO?! Apple is going to ship Front Row with Leopard -- don't you think it would be nice to ship a IR remote and reciever with the PowerMac?



    Airport and Bluetooth could be includded. But then again if I'm going to pay upwards of 2000 dollars for a computer, why not pitch in another $80 for bluetooth and wireless?



    I can understand why no iSight though. Where ya gonna put it?



    Some might say, its a Pro Mac -- for Pro stuff, but why can't you mix business and pleasure. Espessially if you work out of your home.



    I think there might be a difficulty with that, the IR reciever base would need to be a separate module for a lot of people. At different times, I have kept my PowerMac on the floor, on the desk or on a high shelf, depending on the space, but then, I did it for the heat and noise considerations which have hopefully been reduced as claimed with the Mac Pro.



    I do agree there should be one offered but I understand why it wasn't included. I kind of expected that the cinema displays would have cameras built into them, but then, given their size, it would need some sort of adjustability anyways because of the size of the displays. I haven't tried one, but I can imagine the separate iSights having better picture quality, having a much bigger lens and all.



    Is the IR reciever on some of the Apple brand iPod docks compatible, or does that just control the iPod?
  • Reply 96 of 123
    ic1maleic1male Posts: 121member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Haggar


    Will standard PC graphics cards work in this new Mac?



    This is my question, too. Or have Apple locked in their cards with special firmware again?
  • Reply 97 of 123
    placeboplacebo Posts: 5,767member
    They haven't "locked" their cards intentionally, it's that the motherboards use EFI instead of BIOS.



    Then again, Boot Camp patches the firmware with some kind of legacy BIOS support, so maybe?



    In any case, when the whole PC industry starts shifting to EFI, which is seen as the future standard, this should stop being a problem.
  • Reply 98 of 123
    kukukuku Posts: 254member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by WelshDog


    Wait. Wait.



    The best part.



    I say, I say the best part is this:



    A fully tricked out Mac Pro from the Apple Store worked out to . . .



    Wait for it . . .









    $17,981.81 with tax of course.





    Yeah man. Apple sells an $18k computer.

    In the stupefied words of Keanu Reeves:



    Woah.





    Pffff! That's nothing compared to an Avid machine. If you want to play in the big leagues, know where you stand.



    I rather get a tricked out MacPro then a low end Avid MC or something (with work requirements for work not withstanding).



    At least I get a yr support with Apple, avid makes you pay through the nose, if it sneezes.
  • Reply 99 of 123
    welshdogwelshdog Posts: 1,832member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Kuku


    Pffff! That's nothing compared to an Avid machine. If you want to play in the big leagues, know where you stand.



    I rather get a tricked out MacPro then a low end Avid MC or something (with work requirements for work not withstanding).



    At least I get a yr support with Apple, avid makes you pay through the nose, if it sneezes.



    I was just talking about the computer and monitors. Avid is not just a computer. There is a lot of extra hardware that goes with it. We have three of them where I work. And 5 FCP HD all with Xserve Raids. And a Discreet Inferno. And a Quantel Henry.



    What I want to see is a mega Mac Pro with FCP HD and Shake. That will be interesting. And it will cost a lot less than an Avid.
  • Reply 100 of 123
    a_greera_greer Posts: 4,594member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by moloko


    ok,

    ATI Radeon X1900 XT 512MB (2 x dual-link DVI) ? *JUST* Add $350... !!!



    Not bad considering a buddy just paid like $500 retail for that in late June, so figure now it is about $400 retail and the value of the "filler" card, the 7300 is about $50-70 the GPUs are a really good mix and price IMHO.
Sign In or Register to comment.