Merom MacBooks and Powerbooks in September

Posted:
in Future Apple Hardware edited January 2014
Hello

I'm not sure if this is appropriate for a new thread or if this source is reliable

but I thought others may be interested. If this has been previously reported or

is from an unreliable source I apologize.

http://www.digitimes.com/news/a20060811PB201.html

Scott E Pace MD

Comments

• Reply 1 of 20
    I'm no news pro, but the site looks like jokes. I certainly hope they're right though. I can wait a month!
  • Reply 2 of 20
    I think Core 2s will be used as soon as there is sufficient inventory. The back-to-school rush will be over (where Apple can reduce inventories) and there is probably little engineering/programming work needed. I think that Apple will bump up the MBP first, with the MB following a few weeks later.
  • Reply 3 of 20
    brussellbrussell Posts: 9,812member
    I seriously question that MacBooks will get Core 2s. MB Pros I can believe.
  • Reply 4 of 20
    backtomacbacktomac Posts: 4,579member
    Agree with BRussell, I wish that core duo would get serious price drop and be one of intel's 'budget' chips. Then Merom would be high end mobile, conroe mid to high end desk top and woodcrest high end desktop.
  • Reply 5 of 20
    kukitokukito Posts: 113member
    Digitimes is OK in terms of reliability but they do make mistakes. For instance, they predicted Intel Macs would come out in June so they were off by 5 months. They are Taiwan based so they do get a lot of intelligence from the Taiwanese manufacturers that actually build the Macs.
  • Reply 6 of 20
    i just bought a macbook - 3 weeks wait, but i hope they dont bring something new out that quickly. Mind you, i dont really need 64bit proccessing...
  • Reply 7 of 20
    3 week wait??!!! Doesn't that mean that they are getting ready to ship a new one?...The update might be just around the corner now!
  • Reply 8 of 20
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Digital Disasta