Buttons?

Posted:
in Future Apple Hardware edited January 2014
I have been surprised that Apple still is persisting in supplying just one mouse/trackpad button on the MacBooks and MacBook Pros. Whilst this was par-for-the-course on the Powerbooks I'm sure I'm not the only one who is surprised about this missing feature on the new lines. After all I've been using a 5 button mouse since 1999 and OS 9 where contextual menus were very much part of the system and very useful in Office and Dreamweaver at the time. Now I've trained myself to have Dashboard; all window Expose and desktop Expose on the spare buttons - very accessible.

Why now do we have this disparity between the Desktops with their "Mighty Mouse" (Apple; please drop this NAF name) and the laptops with their single click. I can't see how these big single trackpad buttons are useful without having the Ctrl-Click option included.

For those nay sayers; I say the presence of a right click does not confuse a user - it doesn't exist until you try it so it's no less simple than a single button option. My wife never uses a right button despite her Windows background - its existence is not apparent to her (I hear the odd groan when she accidentally clicks the scroll wheel and Expose appears - but I'll teach her yet).

I also think Apple could do something funky like instead of just implementing a Ctrl-Click button next to the trackpad (some may call that Right Click) how about a Click-Wheel. The circular motion could be the scroll wheel; the centre button a Ctrl-Click and the 4 buttons - user-definable - but defaulted to Spaces, Expose, Dashboard etc. I realise positioning of a click-wheel on a laptop would be controversial - but it would be a unique selling point for the MB/MBP and a feature familiar to many many non-Mac users.

Just interested in what you guys/gals think. ;-)

Comments

• Reply 1 of 11