If the IPOD phone comes out....

Posted:
in Future Apple Hardware edited January 2014
What service will it be on?

Im assuming Cingular?

I would hope that apple would do something that no other cellphone company has ever done, and that is create a phone that can be used on ANY provider. Or at least have it available in GSM and CDMA formats..

anyword on what provider will pick it up? Again I'm pretty sure it'll be cingular...

Comments

• Reply 1 of 12
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by socosurf4

Im assuming Cingular?

I would hope that apple would do something that no other cellphone company has ever done, and that is create a phone that can be used on ANY provider. Or at least have it available in GSM and CDMA formats..

anyword on what provider will pick it up? Again I'm pretty sure it'll be cingular...

I have no insider knowledge but simply put GSM is 2.5G and CDMA is 3G. 2.5G doesn't really support the broadband data that will be needed by future devices so it's hard to see Apple going that way. However GSM networks, particularly around the Globe, are more ubiquitous. This means better service for those of us on GSM now but in terms of a business model the GSM market is saturated and the CDMA market will expand. Therefore CDMA seems the way to go for Apple - I suspect it won't be as clear cut as all that though we may well see WiFi or EV-DO based VoIP etc etc based iPhone.

I take it Cingular is CDMA or GSM and not both.

Service providers in the UK offer both GSM and CDMA networks and similar price plans regardless of technology choice.
  • Reply 2 of 12
    cingular is gsm

i only say cingular because they already have phones with 'itunes' on them, so maybe apple has a deal with cingular?
  • Reply 3 of 12
    a_greera_greer Posts: 4,594member
    Why is the itunes razor $150 more than the standard Razor? a$2 headphone jack and iTunes software do not add nearly enough value for the price of that thing!
  • Reply 4 of 12
    Quote: