Most wanted and useful applications

Posted:
in Mac Software edited January 2014
I am going to buy a mac in a few months(waiting for a merom-based macbook). I am new to the world of mac and I would like to know about the most useful apps that most of users cannot live without in the mac os x. Must-have applications, freeware or commercial. From ftp and web design to system utilies all that stuff.

I want to find these programs from now in order to be ready for exploring the new mac.

What do you suggest?

Comments

• Reply 1 of 33
    sandausandau Posts: 1,230member
    virtuedesktop, parallels, cyberduck, isquint, azereus, tubesock
  • Reply 2 of 33
    mrtotesmrtotes Posts: 760member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by cool11

I am going to buy a mac in a few months(waiting for a merom-based macbook). I am new to the world of mac and I would like to know about the most useful apps that most of users cannot live without in the mac os x. Must-have applications, freeware or commercial. From ftp and web design to system utilies all that stuff.

I want to find these programs from now in order to be ready for exploring the new mac.

What do you suggest?

Most of it's there already on the Mac when you buy it but Office for Mac is pretty useful for obvious reasons and I'm a fan of Graphic Convertor as a slide show and conversion tool.

Use MacUpdate to search for anything else.
  • Reply 3 of 33
    icfireballicfireball Posts: 2,594member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by mrtotes

Most of it's there already on the Mac when you buy it but Office for Mac is pretty useful for obvious reasons and I'm a fan of Graphic Convertor as a slide show and conversion tool.

Use MacUpdate to search for anything else.

Adium is a must have.

Adium > iChat > AOL Instant Messanger
  • Reply 4 of 33