Macbook Pro vs. Macbook (for a law student)

Posted:
in Current Mac Hardware edited January 2014
I'm attending law school for the upcoming fall semester and therefore need to buy a new laptop. I've decided to go with an Apple because I'm sick of PCs but can't decide between a Macbook Pro or a Macbook. A big factor for me is portability, since I will have to commute 20-25 minutes to campus each day, however I've noticed the Macbook Pro is only .2 pounds heavier than the Macbook (5.5 compared to 5.3). I'd really appreciate anyone's insight given my situation when comparing these two computers. Thanks!

Comments

• Reply 1 of 8
    If money isn't an issue, get the pro machine. The video card alone will make it worthwhile years down the road.
  • Reply 2 of 8
    backtomacbacktomac Posts: 4,579member
    I'm not a lawyer or especially familar with law school but would guess that you need a good wood processing machine and internet access for research. I would think that the MB would work well. Having said that , I just got the new MBP and it is exceptional in every respect. You will not be disappointed with that computer. It's only fault is that it isn't cheap. I think it may come down to money. How much are you looking to spend?
  • Reply 3 of 8
    Well money is somewhat of an issue. I'd like to spend in the ballpark of $1500. So I guess that makes the macbook more reasonable. However, what's all this talk about future ultra-portable macs coming out?
  • Reply 4 of 8
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by jdphc8

Well money is somewhat of an issue. I'd like to spend in the ballpark of $1500. So I guess that makes the macbook more reasonable. However, what's all this talk about future ultra-portable macs coming out?