Apple settles disability lawsuit over San Francisco store

Comments

• Reply 21 of 70
    paxmanpaxman Posts: 4,729member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by oakie View Post

wtf? ok, first a really short background on me: i'm a disabled vet who needs a cane to get around at 32 years of age. but when i go into a store, i dont care what the damn sign is on the front, DO NOT PATRONIZE ME OR TREAT ME LIKE I'M SPECIAL OR RETARDED. just greet me like any other customer because that's all i am... another customer. obviously these broads think they're entitled to a life of privlege due to their handicap. boohoo.

You misunderstand. The point, as with web sites that are not accessible, is that it is not necessary. If you use a cane and have trouble using your legs, you are not really disabled if you can walk in through a doorway in order to get inside a store. If that store has a 3 foot threshold, you are suddenly disabled not because of your leg but because of the threshold. If you are a wheel chair user and the door is too narrow, you become disabled. If, on the other hand the door is wide and there is no threshold, you are no longer disabled. Likewise, if you are in a wheelchair and the light switch is too high, the counter is too high, the basin in the public bathroom is too high, etc etc, you become disabled unnecessarily. If you are a mother with a child or two in a buggy and you have to climb 50 steps in order to get out of the subway, you are likewise disabled. Through design we can make people abled, or disabled. Its up to us.

You say you want to be greeted like any other customer. I agree. And surely by the same measure you should be treated like any other customer. By that I mean that the impediments to equality should be removed. Its not really that hard. But it requires dealing with face on and that is what these people are doing.

Its not a matter of being PC. Its just common sense.
  • Reply 22 of 70
    WTF? only in the US.
  • Reply 23 of 70