AppleCare Protection Plan

Posted:
in General Discussion edited January 2014
Hi there,

I'm a mac newbie, and am planning on purchasing my first mac soon - my question is it worth getting the AppleCare Protection Plan?

I want this baby to last me for a good few years and still undecided whether to get a 17inch MBP or 24inch iMac... should I get it for either?

Thanks in advance for any help!

Comments

• Reply 1 of 7
    tenshitenshi Posts: 11member
    Also as a graphic/web designer, is it worth spending a little extra $$ for the MBP Hi-Resolution Antiglare Widescreen Display?
  • Reply 2 of 7
    Apple Care is a must. Not being a smartass but your logic board or display will go out after 18 months and you will either need to spend $1000 for the parts or buy a whole new computer. This is my 4th Mac and I absolutley love them but I had to learn the hard way about Apple Care TWICE.

As far as the display... I've always purchased the matte displays because I am a photographer, but the one I just ordered is the glossy... I figured the slightly more vibrant colors, whites and blacks are the way to go and just deal with a bit of the glare. Color isn't more accurate on one or the other once you properly calibrate the screen... the gloss display is just slightly brighter and more rich looking.
  • Reply 3 of 7
    Thank you for that Loungepop

Just curious, how long did your previous macs last you for?
  • Reply 4 of 7
    nvidia2008nvidia2008 Posts: 9,262member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Tenshi View Post

Hi there,

I'm a mac newbie, and am planning on purchasing my first mac soon - my question is it worth getting the AppleCare Protection Plan?

I want this baby to last me for a good few years and still undecided whether to get a 17inch MBP or 24inch iMac... should I get it for either?

Thanks in advance for any help!