New Logic Studio upgrade simplifies complex tasks

2»

Comments

• Reply 21 of 26
    chris vchris v Posts: 460member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Ensign Pulver View Post

No kidding. I love non pros bitching about the cost of pro software.

Seriously, where did I complain about the cost of the software? FWIW, I've been using Macs to earn a living since 1993. I'm somewhere in the grey area between hobbyist and pro when it comes to music -- I've worked in recording studios, and used to earn a goodly portion of my income as a session player, so Garage Band doesn't exactly fit my bill, but neither does thousands of dollars worth of new hardware every few years. I realize I'm in a no-man's land, but I feel like it's been artificially created for me by Apple, to some extent.

I'm taken aback by the general meanness in this thread, but what the hell -- It's the internet. Guess I should man-up.

I missed Apple clearly announcing that they would be releasing a new version of Logic in the near future that would not run on PPC hardware. Maybe I was at work that day. I didn't expect them to support "obsolete" (not according to their service dept.) hardware indefinitely, but it seems to me in this case, that it's not as if they had to drop PPC at this point -- they just did because it was easier/cheaper. If it'll run on 10.5, which their website says it does, then it's not like it's a Snow Leopard thing.

That's their right, as it is my right to be pretty disappointed that they did so.

See y'all in a couple years, I guess.
  • Reply 22 of 26
    chris vchris v Posts: 460member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by SpamSandwich View Post

How about you either use what you have, or make more money to cover your "absolutely necessary" upgrade costs? Just sayin'.

Do try reading. I jumped on the Logic 8 upgrade because it's going to be impossible to find before the week's out. It wasn't absolutely necessary until Apple discontinued it today.
  • Reply 23 of 26