Apple contacted print publications about tablet - report

Comments

• Reply 41 of 155
    It appears that people are assuming this is all this device is going to do. I am highly doubtful that Apple would release a product that was 'just' an eBook / print media tablet. I could see this as a huge selling point and a way for Apple to set up some recurring subscription based revenue or "subs", but it isn't like it isn't going to surf the web, play games, have other apps available for it.
  • Reply 42 of 155
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by stonefingers View Post

As a student, I was one that kept all of my books (and still have them). If the McGraw-Hills of the world put a "time limit" on usage of their digital education content, how am I (or you) going to keep those for reference. Bad bad idea from my perspective.

Perhaps they'll be a choice of hard/soft copy for textbooks.

In any case, textbooks are not usually the ideal reference source - online is usually better, as well as dedicated reference texts...
  • Reply 43 of 155
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by dasein View Post

But (newspapers and magazines) won't exist anymore, anymore than albums really exist these days. Prepackaged media is not where things are headed. It's a-la-carte where the consumers will choose for themselves what items get auto downloaded each day as they come.

You make a good point, and I agree that I only read a small portion of magazine or newspaper articles and have no need for the whole 'package'.

Quote:

If the rules for cable services were to change to a-la-carte, do you think people would stay with these companies' packages? They need a new business model or they're toast within 5 years.