Some websites my macbook just can't go on?

2»

Comments

• Reply 21 of 28
    I think I have finally found the answer. If you have peer guardian, turn it off.
  • Reply 22 of 28
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Kevzaz View Post

I think I have finally found the answer. If you have peer guardian, turn it off.

You're right, Kevzaz!

I de-installed Peer Guardian (had forgotten what is was for anyway...), I repaired permissions and restarted, and Hey! Presto! eHow.com is suddenly accessible!

Thanks!
  • Reply 23 of 28
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Rokcet Scientist View Post

You're right, Kevzaz!

I de-installed Peer Guardian (had forgotten what is was for anyway...), I repaired permissions and restarted, and Hey! Presto! eHow.com is suddenly accessible!

Thanks!

I just bought my first mac...a macbook pro...i am a complete novice with computers so i am relatively certain that the problem i am having is from me not being able to adjust some small setting...i can't get into quite a few popular websites from my macbook..they are:

mail.yahoo.com (can't load the page at all)

www.scottrade.com (i can get to the website but can't login)

www.facebook.com (i can get to the website but can't login)

It's almost like sites that require a username and password I can't get to for some reason although I was able to login here...any idea what is going on? how I "deinstall peer guardian" like some others suggested? not sure if that will fix it but i don't even know how to do it so i can't even try...sorry for being such an amateur...i am a large apple shareholder but am brand new to the whole mac experience. a sincere thank you in advance for your help.
  • Reply 24 of 28
    fiverfiver Posts: 1member