Bank of America, Citigroup testing iPhone to replace BlackBerry

13»

Comments

• Reply 41 of 48
    orlandoorlando Posts: 601member
    Something I've always wondered is do these enterprise customers really use iTunes?
  • Reply 42 of 48
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by lkrupp View Post

They should be testing Android instead of the iPhone. After all Android is going to wipe the iPhone completely out of existence in mere weeks. Dumb banks. When will they get a clue?

It is cogent that you used the word dumb, it applies to more that banks. Did you not read the paragraph addressing the shortcomings of Android?
  • Reply 43 of 48
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by sirozha View Post

I work in IT for an insurance company, and we are currently testing Macs, iPads, and iPhones that are to be deployed throughout the company by the end of the year. The first ones to get them are the top sales people and executives. Then, the rest will follow. I was told the other day that there may be more than 1,000 iPads purchased early next year by our company, which employs 3,000 people.

I hear that many other insurance companies are doing the same thing. iPads will be connecting via IPSec VPN to the corporate servers where a Citrix VM will be created for each VPN connection. From there, users can use any application via their iPad that they currently use on their Windows desktops or Laptops.

We are also testing iMacs, Macbook Pros, new MacBook Airs, and iPhones.

We are talking about a quantum leap that occurred last summer. We have gone from deriding Apple in the beginning of this year to completely embracing Apple as a better platform than Windows, Blackberry, or Android by the end of the year.

Apple is making a huge entrance in the enterprise market this year. Next year, you will start noticing Apple devices in the enterprise everywhere.

What will you, as an IT guy, be doing with all of your spare time?
  • Reply 44 of 48
    Quote: