Any DRIVERS out there?

2»

Comments

• Reply 21 of 30
    [quote]Originally posted by JRC:

Not really sure what you're talking about. Buy my 4-cylinder, Dodge Caravan that cost NEW $14,000 on the lowest-speed-rated rubber money can buy, has done over 115 mph.

Almost daily I drive over 100 mph with my VALENTINE ONE protecting my assets.

<hr></blockquote>

I think the lowest speed rating for tires these days is 115 mph. The issue with tires is heat. At some point, they get too hot and go BOOM. That's pretty fast for a four-banger with a large frontal area, but plausible. Minivans do about 100 mph in Germany.

I've been using Valentine One since 1994 (well, except in Germany). Like the old AMEX commercials used to say, don't leave home without it.
  • Reply 22 of 30
    If you belong to the BMW Car Club of America (no BMW required) and have lots of money, you can sign up for their Nürburgring Driving school. They hold this in conjunction with BMW clubs in Europe. The cost is usually around $900, depending on the exchange rate, plus hotel, food, and a BMW rental (you have to drive something related to a BMW in the school). The school is generally held in June, and the signup is in March. All 60-80 spots are usually spoken for within an hour after they start taking names.

The Nürburgring is a scenic "toll" road in the Eiffel Mountains in Germany. There are actually two tracks there. The current race track was built in 1984 and is where they run Formula One races. It is about 2.5 miles long. The other ("legendary") one, called the old North Loop (Nordschleife) was built in 1927, and is about 13 miles long. The driving school is held in the old north loop. (The longest track I know of in the States is Road America near Milwaukee, and is about 4.5 miles long.)