Apple rumored to update Final Cut applications in March or April

Comments

• Reply 21 of 54
    Sorry to say but FCP is over. While it may be decent tool for editing, in todays movie age editing live footage is probably the least amount of production work that gets done. Unless they step up to the plate and address the real pro competition, They are over in the pro market. Luckily Adobe is not going to replace them.

I work in the industry and from what I see, Nuke is the way to go, especially since the 6.2 release which incorporates 3D into the suite. Node based editing is the future. Don't believe me?, go to ILM or Framestore to see what I mean. Freakin sad.

Although I will admit After Effects is hanging in there, but mostly for roto and keying.
  • Reply 22 of 54
    gary54gary54 Posts: 169member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Jensonb View Post

Evidently you havent used Final Cut Express recently. It's massively deprecated. If memory serves the stable build is something like two and a half years old. At this stage, it's so outdated it practically doesn't exist.

I have it ... it works.

Rephrases my question then: At this present time, they have two related apps. FC & FCE. FCE is marketed as their pro-sumer app, FC as their pro app. Why would they deprecate their pro app to a pro-sumer app when they already have two lines? Wouldn't it make sense to update them both and keep both?
  • Reply 23 of 54
    onhkaonhka Posts: 1,025member
    With all the major digital camera manufacturers now shooting their professional TV/Video Media commercials using their, usually not their top-of-the line, digital SLRs, and now a few Hollywood and Independent film companies shooting with them as well, perhaps the days of declared-wannabee 'pro' editors/users and their proclaimed high-end software expertise is over.

At least their threats are beginning to sound childish while the real pros will continue to entertain us without the tears of the sorrowful few.