Microsoft cites Amazon Appstore in continued opposition to Apple trademark

Comments

• Reply 41 of 86
    sheffsheff Posts: 1,407member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by BUSHMAN4 View Post

'APP STORE' prior to Apples creation had never been used before in any commercial environment. Had it been a generic term or a common phrase a patent would not have been issued.

As for Amazon, couldn't they have come up with they own unique phrase????

Like the Zon Store or Amazon App Jungle.
  • Reply 42 of 86
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by White Rabbit View Post

Are you a programmer like me ? We never used the term apps for applications, only programs, subprograms, subroutines etc. You have no idea what you are writing about.

I am a computer programmer and have heard the term "App" used as shorthand for application many many times, long before the iPhone, iPod, etc. In fact, many programmers wrote Applets, a nickname for a small application that gets its name from adding the suffix let (meaning small) to app (again, shorthand for application).

So...I really don't get what point you were trying to make there. I doubt Apple is trying to prove they coined the term app, cause that simply is not the case. What they are trying to do is defend the term App Store as a brand name.
  • Reply 43 of 86
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by azjay View Post

I say give the trademark to Apple. I have used Windows since Windows 95, and I cannot for the life of me ever recall anything running on Windows being called an "App". Every application on Windows is ALWAYS referred to as a "Program" ...

Good point. Not sure it's entirely relevant, but it is certainly ironic. They are also called applications or application programs in computer science. Nobody asked, but I think application is the more precise nomenclature because application is a type of program, of which there are others. Only the most dedicated Mac snobs have pondered on this one, I'd wager.
  • Reply 44 of 86
    Quote: