FAA approves use of Apple's iPad as electronic flight bag

Comments

• Reply 21 of 55
    ecphorizerecphorizer Posts: 533member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by ipen View Post

Turning iPads on will affect the flight electronics especially it's so close to the cocpit. Either FAA is lying about this or they're willig to compromise flight safety for convenience?

As a commercial pilot, I think FAA just made a mistake. iPad may fail during flight. I would not risk the flight safety of a commercial airliner on a consumer product. There is a need to have a specially designed and manufatured tablet for this kind of purpose...

I'd suggest you not be so disingenuous with your appeal to authority. Stop spreading scare tactics.

Okay, let's clear the air here. What the FAA has approved is the conversion of tens of pounds of flight documentation and such provided by the aircraft manufacturers and their subcontractors. There is absolutely nothing critical being replaced since the aircraft will be required to keep a paper library of these same documents on board. These manuals ordinarily need not be in use during takeoff and landing, so the iPads will be shut down in accordance with other FAA regulations regarding RFI.

The documentation on an iPad will be available to the crew when needed but these documents are not involved in flight safety. As a commercial pilot, I think you should know the difference in what's being proposed here and what the iPad will NOT replace.
  • Reply 22 of 55
    bartfatbartfat Posts: 434member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by hentaiboy View Post

2. Mythbusters proved that consumer electronics affecting avionics was BS years ago

Yeah, but nothing gets people turning off devices faster than a death warning
  • Reply 23 of 55
    apple ][apple ][ Posts: 9,233member