Developer frustrated that Apple grants Game Center support to pirated iOS apps

Comments

• Reply 21 of 145
    I don't write app for iPhone, but speaking as a dev I'm slightly shocked Apple has left it's own device open to piracy on that level. It wouldn't be that hard to make some DRM that isn't going to be hacked quite so simply.
  • Reply 22 of 145
    stuffestuffe Posts: 394member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by TimUSCA View Post

You can tell that your app has been pirated, but you can't tell which ones were pirated.

Not from looking at a Game Centre screen, but by performing a simple piece of investigation into something as simple as checking the size of the executable in bytes, or a checksum etc, he can cross reference against the legitimate original upload and confirm if it's the same or not in about 3 lines of code. OK, as far as Game Center or even the OS (once Jailbroken) is concerned, it cannot tell if it's pirated, bought from the app store, or legitimate but bought from Cydia, but the dev can (and as intimated he already has - the one from the comments, not the article) tell the difference.

Me, I'd say it's a fine line from punishing the theifs and allowing them a certain leeway. It's entirely possible that by running a pirate version of the game they might spread word of mouth to 10 friends that it's a cool game which perhaps a further 1 of those 10 will purchase legitimately. Also, some subtle nag screen, increasing delays between levels or some such for detected pirate versions could potentially turn a pirate into a legitimate customer. But one thing is for sure, if I was a developer with an app, I would be certain to let the user KNOW that I knew, perhaps stamp an alternate home screen icon with something, or a lengthy splash screen saying as much etc.
  • Reply 23 of 145
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by cloudgazer View Post