Apple exec says Google spent 'a lot of money' on Motorola

Comments

• Reply 81 of 116
    thomprthompr Posts: 1,521member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Dick Applebaum View Post

Yes! Google has already given their partners a public reassurance of their intentions for Android.

And each partner, in turn, has made a public response to their faith in Googles intentions...

Oddly, several companies made press release comments that were worded almost exactly the same...

Reminds one of the the talking points provided to the news outlets by the political parties...

But, I wonder why the public votes of confidence were made at all...

I have been observing large companies since 1958...

Almost, without exception, a company's public vote of confidence is soon followed by actions which indicate that they had no confidence at all -- they were just mouthing the words.

You can go way back to the public statement "I find no fault in this man..." Pontius Pilate.

Said another way, a public vote of confidence often precedes a public crucifixion.

Just an observation... No disrespect intended!

No problem, and I can't dispute the point that what a company says they are going to do and what they ultimately DO do are two separate things. However, I think it actually makes more sense for Google to use those patents as shields for their army than it does for them to actually enter the fray, not to mention perform fratricide. I had that opinion even BEFORE hearing any public statements on the topic. So in this case, their public statements totally dovetail with good business sense (setting aside that extreme cost). We shall see. Google may be naive and bold, in some ways, but they certainly aren't stupid, which is exactly what I think they would be if they really were intending on hurting their allies. All they have going for them right now is a semblance of strength in numbers. It could easily fall apart with any misstep.

Thompson
  • Reply 82 of 116
    Quote: