Apple's television could offer superior picture quality with advanced backlighting

Comments

• Reply 41 of 69
    gwlaw99gwlaw99 Posts: 134member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by KaptainK View Post

I design DTV SoCs for a living, specifically video IP.

The SoC in your DTV already does all of the above in this article if it has 2D local dimming of the LED backlight. Most mid -> high end now have this as standard.

Aspect ratio info is ( depending on the codec ) coded into the elementary stream in the picture headers or via the embedded userdata. Additionally many systems have either SW or HW inbuilt BBD ( black bar detection ) when this info is available.

In short, nothing innovative here. The PQ ( picture quality ) processing in most TVs is where the innovation lies and is highly complex. Apple does not have this IP, something I know to be true as they tried to licence the IP for reasons known only to them.

Yes, but now they can sue people.
  • Reply 42 of 69
    Woohoo! Keep those phony specs coming, AI. We need more wild speculation instead of facts. Just be sure to use the word "could" in every sentence.
  • Reply 43 of 69
    What if Apple isn't even planning on making a TV? This would be the most epic fail of the telephone game of all time.
  • Reply 44 of 69
    conrailconrail Posts: 489member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by LighteningKid View Post

How many users actually have the bandwidth to access 4k content? I don't think it's as simple as just offering higher HD content.

If you limit the data rate enough, 4k by 4k is no problem. It'll look like crap, but it will be a 4k image, and in the wonderful world of consumer electronics, big numbers are all that matter
  • Reply 45 of 69
    cory bauercory bauer Posts: 1,286member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by gwmac View Post

From the article I linked.