Apple expands beyond Cupertino with large Sunnyvale lease

2»

Comments

• Reply 21 of 30
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by zoetmb View Post

Has construction actually started on the spaceship? How far along are they? Just land clearing or is there the beginnings of any structure?

Nah, it's still all on paper. There's no physical activity yet.
  • Reply 22 of 30
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Aizmov View Post

I wish I could work for Apple. I'm a CS major and in two years I'll be graduating with a Master's degree. But it seems Apple wants people with experience, how am I supposed to have experience when I'm a new grad that can't find a job \

Internship?

Or get a job somewhere else and after you have a few years of experience, apply at Apple. As a matter of fact, that probably how 98% of Apple's engineers got there.

There's a lot more to being a good individual contributor than a mortarboard. Apple knows this. Anyone can talk the talk, they just want to see you walk the walk. Competition is fierce for top-tier engineering talent in Silicon Valley, but Apple has a long history of growing their engineering employee ranks very slowly.
  • Reply 23 of 30
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by iCupertinoMDN View Post

You sounds like one of the current "Apple Insiders" or past Apple employee.

Nope. I have never worked at Apple.

I have worked at other nearby high tech companies, one of which used to be on the Fortune 500. What I wrote is no trade secret. All the big, growing high tech companies are constantly doing the office deck chair shuffle whether they be some giant like HP, Oracle, Google, etc. or someone smaller like Drobo.

You have X workgroups in a bunch of office buildings, each facility with a maximum capacity. Some groups grow, some groups shrink, others might be split off, some combined.