September launch pegged for Apple's 13" Retina MacBook Pro, new iMac

Comments

• Reply 21 of 88
    shaun, ukshaun, uk Posts: 1,050member

Quote:

Originally Posted by Downpour View Post

I'm a graphic designer and there is no way I'd go back to matte screens.

I have a window right behind my desk and have no problem with reflection at all on my 27" iMac.

If I put my hand next to the screen I can't see any reflection at all, it's as if there is nothing between me and the image. It's much better than the annoying light glow that covered my old screens. 

The mirror screen thing is a myth created by people who are trying to sound professional.

You must have the optimal amount of lighting in your studio coz my iMac is so reflective I had to move my desk into a dark corner coz I could hardly see a thing when it was sunny coz the screen is so reflective.

• Reply 22 of 88
    jeffdmjeffdm Posts: 12,951member
    shaun, uk wrote: »
    I know, it doesn't make any sense to release so many new products at once. Apple usually releases one new product at a time for maximum publicity.

That was a large part of my understanding as well. I was surprised when they merged the iPhone with the iPod announcements though.

I expect that the the iDevice event will only be for iDevices. It's enough that Apple updates a third to half their product line in one announcement.

I don't see why Apple would update the MacBook Air only to update it again three months later. Their Air update cycle is 9 to 12 months. A 3 month update cycle would be very unusual for them.
  • Reply 23 of 88
    applezillaapplezilla Posts: 941member

Quote:

Originally Posted by zunx View Post

Hopefully with matte display option. Or else, no purchase. MacMatte.

I was a matte devotee until I saw the Retina MBP. They have really reduced the reflectivity. It's a total pleasure. You should go take a look.

• Reply 24 of 88