Microsoft's new logo emphasizes Windows, Metro

Comments

• Reply 81 of 171

I'm a graphic designer and this sort of blows my mind. There are a lot of logos and identities out there that blow my mind. For example, http://www.firstalliancecu.com here in my own city of Rochester, MN. Three rounded rectangles layered over each other. This took what...3 minutes of the president's son playing around in Illustrator? Some of the stuff I see here in Rochester is real garbage that doesn't take much thought, effort or any creativity, but I'm sure was well paid for. Or maybe it's an indication that more companies are doing the logo on their own in Microsoft Publisher to save money than actually paying someone who can build something visually engaging and represents an actual concept and brand strategy.

Microsoft's old logo wasn't that exciting either, but it sort of does that FedEx implied arrow thing with the O and S and is sort of more visually engaging...not by much, but more visually engaging. This new logo is just the name without any tweaking of the typeface and then 4 squares. Big deal. The old logo is boring but it's more iconic than this. This is too simple. I love simple, but this isn't that amazing. It probably did cost Microsoft a pretty penny to have this developed and built...but I don't think it's going to do them much good. Its like they've been developing this new UI (Metro) and then decided that they should build an identity that follows that new UI which is going to be prevalent throughout it's products. It makes sense, but it's too simple. Like someone here said earlier...they could have designed this in a span of 20 minutes. I could have done the same. There's no real thought involved. "Make it look like Metro" was probably in the creative brief. Some creative professional somewhere just made bank cause they did the one job on earth that required no thought and no effort yet yielded a massive check.