American Airlines pilots begin using Apple's iPad during all phases of flight

13»

Comments

• Reply 41 of 46

If your plane goes down and you have an iPad instead of your 35 pound flight bag, watch Archer on Netflix. It's hilarious.

• Reply 42 of 46

I am a pilot who uses the ipad3 (also had an ipad2) and iphone4S in the cockpit all the time.  The GPS signal is rock solid, as long as you have a relatively clear line-of-sight between the unit and the window, sighting up toward the satellites.  You don't really need an outside or Bluetooth external antenna, although it certainly wouldn't hurt. Once it locks on, you can even put the ipad3 on the floor of the co-pilot's side, and it still works OK, even though you have obscured the line-of-sight drastically (but I haven't tested it much this way) - I typically have my ipad anchored to the pilot's yoke, right in front of me,and remove it for takeoff and landing, and place it on the co-pilot's seat, where is works perfectly also.  It also works on the commercial flights in the passenger seats, but is harder to maintain lock, due to the smaller windows of a passenger aircraft. (haven't been fortunate enough, yet, to fly in the new 787, which has the largest windows available so far - but hope to do so someday soon.).

Incidentally, it gives very accurate altitudes, since it is WAAS based GPS antenna accuracy.  If all my avionics and airspeed data went south on my aircraft (almost impossible, by the way), I plan on using the ipad as an emergency navigator, and many aviation sources have tested this out with fantastic results.  Nice piece-of-mind to have.

• Reply 43 of 46
    I am a retired commercial airline pilot and AVIONICS engineer. The reason airlines require passengers to "put away" all devices during critical phases of flight (below 10,000 feet) is that if there is an emergency there will be no flying debris. There is no interference from electronic devices.