iPhone 5 reportedly suffers from quick scrolling issue

13»

Comments

• Reply 41 of 49
    Is it only diagonally? I ask because I've noticed it times on tumblr but just always figured it's slow response of the page loading. And with the additional length of the 5 it's loading quite a bit more with each scroll.
  • Reply 42 of 49
    Has anybody seen this on the iPhone 4S and 4, like I have(4)
  • Reply 43 of 49

I get this same issue, but it doesn't have to be diagonal, normal quick swiping up and down on my music list also causes it to become unresponsive.

• Reply 44 of 49

Quote:

Originally Posted by Vaelian View Post

Do you actually have a source for this? Because your post doesn't make sense considering that it doesn't happen on the iPhone 4S, which is a dual core system.

I’m a developer, had experience with similar issue, which led to detailed examination on how scrolling works on iPhone. You can’t see it on iPhone 4S in Mail, or other app which is idling when you scroll, but if an app performs some task on main thread (or a task that constantly syncs with main thread) then you likely to get this syncing issue on any iPhone. And this is, indeed, a thread syncing issue by all accounts: main thread is responsible for both animation and user input, so when you get neither (on video scrolling stops and input is ignored) but the app is still running (after a whille scrolling will be unstuck).

In my case, that was fixable within the app. In this case it can be fixed like all thread syncing issues in generic UI component: with iOS update. My guess the culprit here is the higher frame rate on iPhone 5 (If iOS will set it to lower value for scrolling that would be enough) or similar trick, which can be done in an app. Of course, there are proper ways to fix it too. And, there’s a chance it is app-specific, and not every scrolling app affected.