Judge orders Apple, Amazon to talk settlement in 'app store' trademark fight

Comments

• Reply 21 of 57
    dasanman69dasanman69 Posts: 13,002member
    ifij775 wrote: »
    Apple should get it's day in court. I also don't see why litigating these disputes take so long. Our court system is a mess.

Ummm because there's more cases that need to be heard as well.
  • Reply 22 of 57
    Nothing you have said is evidence that they should no longer have the trademark.

So is Kleenex. Why can't they have the trademark? Why should they be punished, allowing their brand and their system to have its reputation destroyed, simply because they were successful? That's not how it works.

Because Kleenex the name does not describe tissue. App is short for application and generally used to describe software regardless of platform. Shoot I've been calling appetizers apps for over 15 years.
  • Reply 23 of 57

Originally Posted by dasanman69 View Post

Because Kleenex the name does not describe tissue. App is short for application and generally used to describe software regardless of platform. Shoot I've been calling appetizers apps for over 15 years.

They're not trademarking "app". They're trademarking "App Store".

• Reply 24 of 57
    macrulezmacrulez Posts: 2,455member

deleted

• Reply 25 of 57

"A E I O U  Intellectual Property Corp." - Specializes in product naming. We will sue anyone with a e i o or u in their products. image

• Reply 26 of 57
    kdarlingkdarling Posts: 1,640member

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ireland View Post

I saw a video a couple of years ago where the Salesforce CEO discussed when he gave the then few years old - at the time - trademark "App Store" to Apple. 

Yes, he said he was as surprised as anyone, since he had a trademark on "AppStore"... and Apple didn't consult him before before using "App Store" (with a space). 

Quote:

Originally Posted by realwarder View Post