iPhone 5 sales strong, but iPad supply issues affected Apple's holiday quarter - report

Comments

• Reply 21 of 41
    jungmarkjungmark Posts: 6,926member
    gqb wrote: »
    Fox claims the same... that there's a firewall between their editorial and news.
    Patent nonsense, and that erodes any trust I once had for WSJ.

Same can be said about the NYT.
    These financial "experts" are no smarter than your average gardener. Why do people give any value to anything they say? That's what I don't understand.

Because they have unnamed sources and supply checks! /s
  • Reply 22 of 41
    jragostajragosta Posts: 10,473member
    These financial "experts" are no smarter than your average gardener. Why do people give any value to anything they say? That's what I don't understand. I am far from a financial expert but I did an experiment were I created two investment accounts about two years ago. One was managed (which I had to pay a fee for) by a large financial institution's financial "experts" and one was managed by a financial neophyte, me. The account I managed (I actually only managed it about once a month) did about 50% better than the account managed by the financial "idiots", sorry "experts". Lucky I guess. Maybe these guys need to get back into managing home mortgages. Oh wait, that didn't work out so well either.

The comparison is flawed (although the conclusion remains valid).

The bank 'expert' is compensated based on how much money he makes for the bank. You would be compensated on how well your account does. It's not surprising that you can do better than someone who makes money by encouraging excessive trades and trades in things which the bank might want to unload.
  • Reply 23 of 41
    rogifanrogifan Posts: 10,669member
    gqb wrote: »
    Fox claims the same... that there's a firewall between their editorial and news.
    Patent nonsense, and that erodes any trust I once had for WSJ.