Judge hits Apple with e-book injunction, requires external compliance monitor

Comments

• Reply 21 of 46

I'm not a lawyer but after reading this all seem pretty legit and acceptable for Apple.

Only the MFN is now forbidden for E-Book and Agency model is in no way endangered.

Also monitoring seems to be there only to ensure Apple won't be the middle-man between all publishers.

Apple now have two options : live with it or appeal.

But what is really fun now is that they might accept theses terms and then in a totally "business-safe" way launch an antitrust complaint against Amazon...

• Reply 22 of 46

These comments are quite shameful. Apple should not enforce MFN as well as take 30%, it's just a joke and one of the reasons you get stupid situations like magazine subscriptions being so expensive on the iPad for digital, but cheaper to get the hard copy PLUS digital.

It's also hurting the Mac app store.

• Reply 23 of 46

Our law schools unfortunately produce business illiterates that rule on business matters. Cote is Exhibit A.

What a travesty.

• Reply 24 of 46
    Quote:

Originally Posted by dasanman69 View Post

Because how often does Apple give concessions?

1) We don't know.

2) That is not the legal point.

• Reply 25 of 46
    jragostajragosta Posts: 10,473member
    dasanman69 wrote: »

Because how often does Apple give concessions?

They obviously have. Sometimes it's because the technology has changed. Sometimes it's just a response to market changes.

How often they give concessions is irrelevant. Legally, Judge Cole just ruled that if Apple gives one publisher a deal, that they have to wait years before other publishers can have the same thing. That's extremely anticompetitive.
  • Reply 26 of 46
    jragosta wrote: »
    They obviously have. Sometimes it's because the technology has changed. Sometimes it's just a response to market changes.