Brand new 15" Macbook Pro Retina - Battery life only 4 hours, not 9 like they claim

2»

Comments

• Reply 21 of 28
    maxitmaxit Posts: 222member
    Quote:

Originally Posted by varnau View Post

Hi Vincent,

I'm not sure the point of your post as you don't offer any alternative solution to the problem, or even an instance of this solution having not worked, which could have been helpful for some users (eg. maybe it depends on what software you've installed etc), but merely your theory on why it shouldn't work.

I'm not an expert, so I'm not going to bother disputing your theory, but what I do know from actual first-hand experience is that this is neither "impossible" nor "wishful thinking" on my part.

Before I changed that one setting--and ONLY that one setting--the battery life on my brand new Macbook was abysmal, and afterwards (and still today nearly one year later) the battery life is as promised by Apple.

No offense intended, but frankly I don't care what settings you prefer to use, activating the power nap worked for me so I thought I'd share the tip in case it might help other users. It seems to have done the trick for the original poster.

Cheers, Julie

ps. If you somehow thought that simply disputing the solution would be helpful to other users, a more polite and less arrogent way to have made your point would have been to say something like, "That's interesting that this seems to have worked, are you sure you didn't make any other settings changes that could have accounted for the improvement because it doesn't make sense to me. My understanding of Power Nap is....."

Vincent's isn't a theory, nor an opinion: he stated the truth about Power Nap...

You gave an advice that potentially could shorten battery life (at least in Stop Mode) and surely can't make it any better.

• Reply 22 of 28
    maxitmaxit Posts: 222member
    Quote:

Originally Posted by Ruzzell View Post

Hi,