US DOJ argues against Apple motion to remove e-book antitrust monitor

2»

Comments

• Reply 21 of 36
    Quote:

Originally Posted by Flaneur View Post

If you think any of the visible officials are in control, you are one pathetic, clueless citizen.

Yikes. Talk about clueless. I said Holder’s team is out of control. Who said anything about anyone ‘visible’!?

(Asking myself: Why bother with people who can’t process a simple sentence….)

• Reply 22 of 36
    Quote:

Originally Posted by HuskyOffset View Post

I'm not a lawyer, but it seems to me that the scope of the monitor should just be the contracts Apple signs with book publishers, right? I don't understand why he would need to even interview any employees besides the person in charge of iBooks store and the lawyers at Apple that drafted the contracts. What legal reason would he have to interview anybody else?

The scope of his position is to evaluate the antitrust policies and procedures in place at Apple. They're looking to ensure that Apple establishes a good internal training procedure and doesn't go into any similar arrangement in future.

• Reply 23 of 36
    Quote:

Originally Posted by hill60 View Post

So if I robbed a bank of $140,000, I shouldn't be charged because the bank hasn't suffered "irreparable harm".

Is that how this works?

From what I've read, Apple could have objected to fees but they chose not to use the dispute procedure laid out and instead filed for an emergency measure. I'm not a lawyer, but it appears that 'irreparable harm' is the standard for an emergency appeal against a court order.

• Reply 24 of 36
    thttht Posts: 5,608member
    Quote:

Originally Posted by anantksundaram View Post

Holder's team is absolutely out of control. And, he's one pathetic, clueless bureaucrat.