Review: Automatic Link works with your iPhone to make you a better driver

2»

Comments

• Reply 21 of 27
    solipsismxsolipsismx Posts: 19,566member
    A nice feature for some is that it records your last position so if you park in some large parking lot it can help you find your car again if you happen to forget.

So it makes you a "more efficient" driver. But are you REALLY a better driver? What is a better driver anyways, it can be defined a LOT of ways. I'm a better driver because I have raced/autocrossed/track day'd many times. My attention behind the wheel and skills are way higher than the average public. I also do drive my little car efficiently, but my sports car is for enjoying some speed. Hard accel and braking don't concern me. Ultimately though, aside from being more frugal, what has the app done for your situational awareness? How confident are you driving in rain/snow? Do you even know how your car and your own reflexes respond in an emergency situation?
    I'm all for better MPG and better feedback in that sense. But driving is a complex activity and using an iOS app isn't making you THAT much better on the whole. Let's not lure ourselves into thinking it's making us "better drivers".
    Drivers improve when they can practice panic stops, skids, fast lane changes, etc at a live driving school.