Apple's iPhone grows to 27.6% of Chinese smartphone market, led by iPhone 6

2»

Comments

• Reply 21 of 29
    nolamacguynolamacguy Posts: 4,758member
    cropr wrote: »

Well I am an app developer for both iOS ad Android. I think you have a completely distorted picture of the profits of an app.  It cost on average aroud $50k to make an app, which means you have to collect around $70k to reach break even. Given the statistics of download and in app purchase,  90 % of all apps are loss making for the developer (but profitable for Apple and Google), and 1 % of the apps make huge profits. That is the harsh reality 

For the 2 apps I have published for my own account, I get more revenue from Android (around 60%) than from iOS (around 40%). None of the 2 apps have reached break even.  The fact that is search function in the Apple App store is pretty bad, does not help.

More and more companies want to have an app as part of their communication strategy (like they needed a website 20 years ago).  Here I make most of my income.  These apps are always free for the end user. All companies I work for request iOS and Android versions simultaneously and all detest the app verification by Apple, which is unpredictable and takes too long.  That last point is getting more and more important and combined with a lower market share could be driver for "Android first", because it is for companies difficult to setup an app launch event if they don't know when the app will finally arrive on the App store.

Your experience with your two apps doesn't seem to mesh with what's reported elsewhere, which states that iOS leads in dev revenue generation due to paying users. There have been those saying android-first will happen, such as VC Fred Wilson, but they've been saying it for years but it still hasn't happened.
  • Reply 22 of 29
    jungmarkjungmark Posts: 6,927member