Apple Music to miss out on Taylor Swift's '1989' album

1235»

Comments

• Reply 81 of 95
    thomprthompr Posts: 1,521member
    Quote:

Originally Posted by Robin Huber View Post

I respect Ms. Swift as a music cum celebrity business-person. And her music is riding the current pop wave. Whether she has staying power remains to be seen. Will her songs be as timeless as Paul McCartney? Few are.  But I've never really liked her, and I don't know why. There is just something about her that rubs me the wrong way. Maybe it's because I really believe her actual artistic talents are pretty limited, and resent the way she is grotesquely rewarded for them. Maybe it's really the system that angers me.

I'm not into pop music and don't often listen to her stuff.  But as a musician myself and the father of two daughters that play Swift's music, I can clearly see that she is an incredibly gifted songwriter.  She writes all her own stuff, and she changes styles and themes almost effortlessly.  If you think her artistic talents are "pretty limited", then I have to wonder whether you've actually given her the benefit of the doubt.

• Reply 82 of 95
    tibortibor Posts: 12member
    "Taylor Swift to miss out on Apple Music with her '1989' album"

There, fixed the headline.
  • Reply 83 of 95

“The far reaching implications of this profound cultural loss are staggering.” – No one, ever

• Reply 84 of 95
    davidwdavidw Posts: 2,053member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by thompr View Post

The album in question is still generating hit after hit and selling like hotcakes!  You may not appreciate it, but tons of people worldwide do.  Her album is like the iPhone of albums, and you prefer Android (it's an analogy, don't flip)!