Apple addresses XARA vulnerabilities, says fixes on the way

2»

Comments

• Reply 21 of 31
    retiariusretiarius Posts: 142member

excellent post re: the spectrum from black to white.   (like most things, it's really a shade of grey.)

as a retired software developer, i personally found security issues to be fairly boring.

spy vs. spy stuff.  but i'm a greybeard old hippie who trusts more than most.

for others, security is "job security".   it's too bad other computing-related issues don't

get more play.   exception:  the most recent issue of the bloomberg business week magazine,

devoted *entirely* to "code", exposed to a very wide audience.

• Reply 22 of 31
    mr. memr. me Posts: 3,221member
    Quote:

Originally Posted by d4NjvRzf View Post

Exploitability and marketshare are both factors. Design determines how hard it is to write an exploit. Marketshare gives attackers motivation. Given that the vast majority of businesses run Windows, hackers would have more of an incentive to find exploits for Windows even if it were harder to exploit than OS X.

Everyone on this forum understands the argument for the notion that popularity correlates to vulnerability. All you did was to repeat the argument. Nonsense repeated is still nonsense.

• Reply 23 of 31
    knowitallknowitall Posts: 1,648member
    "Earlier this week we implemented a server-side app security update that secures app data and blocks apps with sandbox configuration issues from the Mac App Store. We have additional fixes in progress and are working with the researchers to investigate the claims in their paper," an Apple spokesman said.

A bit worrisome that this can be read that Apple didn't take the security problem seriously and waited six month to do something.
  • Reply 24 of 31
    d4njvrzf wrote: »