French company sues Apple over incomplete HTML5 support on iOS, macOS Safari

124»

Comments

• Reply 61 of 64
    All this because Apple wants to optimise your battery life and refuses to pay Google a fee over WebM… two things I wholeheartedly support Apple to keep doing.
  • Reply 62 of 64
    The user and all related content has been deleted.
  • Reply 63 of 64

"It is more difficult in France than in the USA to get a ruling that contradicts the wording of the law," said Smets.

What?  Weird sentence.  More importantly, what IS the law that they believe Apple is violating?

Frankly, I'm surprised to hear that WebKit isn't as standards compliant as its competitors.  If true, Apple probably should rectify that. but I'm curious what law would require that, 

Whatever is the local law, it's nearly guaranteed to favor local industry over common sense.
  • Reply 64 of 64
    holyoneholyone Posts: 398member
    holyone said:

holyone said:

A question : I'm not an expert infact I know nothing about coding this will probably sound very bumb but I dont care this' been bothering me for while and I cant figure it out, I was thinking is Apple's dependence on intel's chips because of the x86 instruction set ? which pretty much runs the world and intel entirely owns ? Is the problem of Apple going full custom ARM on their higher performance hardware like iMac large softwear penetration of the x86 standard ? that if Apple ditched intel chips, unacceptably lage amounts of softwear would be incompatible with the Mac thus hurting users ? I'm guessing there are also lots of minor hardware that function on x86 code but the iPhone does almost everything the iMac does be it on a limited terms. But if the issue is inconsivably large conversions effots of staple softwer to run on more efficient and modern ARM chips then is that impossible for Apple ? I was thinking what Apple could do to be less depended on an outsider for CPU and thought hey!!! they should buy intel but then thought wh