Early benchmarks of MacBook Pro confirm Apple's claims of fastest-ever SSD

Comments

• Reply 21 of 42
    polymniapolymnia Posts: 1,080member
    ron1701 said:
    Fast page outs won't help you when you are trying to run multiple  VM's. The memory used by VM's is wired and cannot be swapped.
    Not that I know anything about VMs, I'm just a simple Graphic Designer, but don't VMs usually live on servers?
  • Reply 22 of 42
    afrodriafrodri Posts: 190member
    polymnia said:
    ron1701 said:
    Fast page outs won't help you when you are trying to run multiple  VM's. The memory used by VM's is wired and cannot be swapped.
    Not that I know anything about VMs, I'm just a simple Graphic Designer, but don't VMs usually live on servers?
    Many do, but a lot of people who develop code run VMs locally on their laptop or desktop. For example, I often have a couple of Linux VMs running so I can cross test  changes in the code I'm developing. Also, there are some programs which don't run on every operating system, so you may need to run a VM so you can use those. 
  • Reply 23 of 42
    sflocalsflocal Posts: 6,095member
    schlack said:
    Samsung's EVO drive claims 3GB/sec transfer speeds also. Makes sense, as Samsung is probably the manufacturer of Apple's SSDs anyhow.

I heard that, Samsung's just released a 960 Pro SSD 1TB recently, man those are fricken fast, 3,500 MB/sec Sequential Read Speed right now... That’s moving.

The 960Pro is a PCI-e based SSD drive.  That's on-par with what Apple uses so it's no surprise that they have the 3.6GB/s speeds.   SSD drives based on the SATA interface, even the most fastest SATA3 interface maxes out to around 600MB/s which while much better than a conventional hard drive, uses the legacy SATA interface which was optimized for mechanical hard drives, and not SSD drives.  That's why PCI-e is the way to go.

That's where I think TB3 connected PCI-e SSD "sticks" will be just insane.
    Solimacplusplus
  • Reply 24 of 42