Apple's Ive and Newson unveil unadorned fir trees for Claridge's Christmas installation

Comments

• Reply 21 of 61
    jkichline said:
    Wow. Bunch of non-designers and armchair art critics peer upon a single, poor photograph of a lighting installation and pan it as rubbish.  Some art and design needs to be experienced and is not easily captured by a photo on a webpage.  I think the same thing goes for other designs and products of Ive.  Stop judging things by the simple and myopic view your web browser gives you into the world.
    First off, I AM a designer. Not sure about the other member. And there are plenty of other photos to see. None of which help your cause. 

Stop creating strawman arguments to burn down. It's not a good look. 
    aknabisirlance99dysamoriaavon b7tallest skilwetlanderduervologic2.6
  • Reply 22 of 61
    Donvermo said:
    That just looks boring and uninspired.  Christmas is a season of celebration and joy (and this is explicitly called the Claridge CHRISTMAS tree installation).  

There is nothing about that setup that makes me feel joyful.  Complete fail by Ive.  Ive is usually really good about tying function and design, but this just looks like some shallow attempt to produce something "chic."
    In a huge fan of Ive's work and have been for a long time. 

But it I agree here. 

Great design relates to the purpose. This does not. 

Does it it look nice? Sure. 

But it it's almost spooky. Not celebratory. 

Actually I have to disagree, the set seems like it is meant to instil a sense of serenity. The true meaning of Christmas is not about gold, glitter and presents, it's about celebrating the birth of Jesus and to reflect for a moment on the sanctity of life. If anything this set seems to capture this feeling way more than any other over the top treasure trove of presents I have seen throughout the years. If this set is supposed to communicate what this holiday is really about, Ive is spot on here.