Apple Music marketing exec Bozoma Saint John talks diversity in new interview

2»

Comments

• Reply 21 of 34
    dasanman69dasanman69 Posts: 13,002member
    I don't get what's so special about this woman. Sure she might be better than Eddy Cue on stage but that's not saying much.
    That she's a woman, that she is dark skin black, that she immigrated from Ghana, that she worked hard, and had to overcome a lot of adversity to get where she's at. 

Plenty of white males work hard and overcome adversity. But that doesn't satisfy forced diversity goals. With the completely unprofessional movement to forcibly diversify company executive positions, how can we ever look at a person like this and believe they got this job because they were the best person for the job?

I have ZERO knowledge or information on this woman save for one instance...she got to speak at an Apple event. The person I saw speak did not sound like an executive. She sounded like some dope they grabbed out of a shopping mall and shove out on stage. So with that being my only basis for evaluation, and the fact that I know Apple is forcing diversity into as many token positions as possible...I can't take her seriously at all.

I'm not speaking from some malicious position. I'm just calling it as it is. She is a black African immigrant woman, holding a top executive position at a US company. She got that job because either 1) out of every imaginable candidate she was the right one to head up Apple Music, or 2) because she's a black African immigrant woman and that ticks a ton of diversity boxes in one shot for Apple.

Which do you think is more likely in today's climate?
    Which do you think is more likely after having heard her speak?
    For the life of me I cannot comprehend the asinine notion of there being only one best person for a job. What a person is capable of does not appear on a piece of paper, nor in their past history. What works well in one company doesn't mean will work at another.