Target launches 'Wallet' mobile payments platform, continues to ignore Apple Pay

13»

Comments

• Reply 41 of 52
    anomeanome Posts: 1,542member
    brucemc said:
    georgie01 said:
    cgWerks said:

I don't find chip cards to be slow.
    Privacy issues aside, Apple Pay seems more cumbersome. (And, I'm a tech guy... imagine the average non-technical user.)
    When ApplePay is implemented properly all it requires is holding the phone near the reader for a moment after Touch/FaceID authorisation and then the payment is complete. It’s incredibly fast and easy.

When you have a stupid merchant who badly implements ApplePay and still wants you to go through the whole touchpad process including entering a pin, then ApplePay is annoying and slow, like a credit card.

I’m guessing you’ve only used the latter.
    You have to look at the poster making the comment...

ApplePay is super easy with the watch.  The best is at a drive-thru, where you don't need to fumble to get the wallet out of a coat - just double tap and reach over to the terminal the attendant is holding.  Done.

I am realistic though - if you already have your wallet out and just reach to get a credit card with NFC, then it is as fast as the phone.  Not as secure, but just as fast.  The time savings is when you have your phone out and wallet is not (and most people seem to be on their phone these days).  Or you don't have your wallet on you at all when going out for a run or stroll...

Actually, the watch at a drive through is interesting. I suspect at your local drive through, where the window is on the left, I would have problems using the watch, since I'm left handed, so wear it on my right wrist. On the other hand, here I would be OK since the drive through window would be on the right of the car. Of course, it means that most people would be inconvenienced paying with the watch, and I just happen to be lucky.